RF interference from amateur radio

I’m a ham operator and have a HF antenna about 50 feet from a Shake RS4D. Transmissions on 10 or 14 MHz strongly affect the geophone. Accelerometers are unaffected. Transmitter is only running about five watts. Has anyone else seen this? I haven’t tried to mitigate yet, thinking of trying ferrite chokes on ethernet and power cables. This is a digital protocol (FT-8) with continuous transmissions of 15 seconds duration followed by 15-second listening periods. Interference seems to be a spike at beginning and end of the transmission.

Hello Jay,

yes, another user of our Shakes reported a similar phenomenon, and this is what he did to solve the issue caused by RF interference: https://raspberryshake.org/amateur-radio-my-rf-shielded-raspberry-shake-vault-experiment/

This is the same article, but here on the community: My RF shielded in-ground vault experiment. Maybe you can get in touch with him (and possibly others) and you can exchange your ideas on the subject.

FWIW - I put my Rshake in one of those diecast metal boxes and used a feedthrough capacitor for the DC and ferrite core on the ethernet cable and DC. I have also used a 24-12/5 volt DC-DC converter. In the case of the RBoom device I added an ethernet isolator device in line with the ethernet cable. You can see the RBoom setup here

the photo itself is here:

https://community.raspberryshake.org/uploads/default/original/1X/c6736427d6fa23a08d7d271efae6f5840f51c2fc.jpeg

Ken

2 Likes

I should add one more thing - the diecast box looks shiny, but in fact is made of materials that will react quite strongly in contact with concrete and moisture - or just continuous heavy moisture. If you are locating it in a wet area (as most outdoor locations are) you should lightly sand and thoroughly paint the exterior of the box before setting it out.