Watch California Shake Live on YouTube

#1

This is too cool:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNADkv1FO0o

Two Cali Shakes streaming live on YouTube. Watch for when there is an earthquake and the whole network goes red.

For more California Shaking information, checkout: https://twitter.com/SteveBCaron (@scaron).

branden

1 Like
#2

If you scroll back to either 10:47:20 UTC (03:47:20 PT) or 14:32:30 UTC (07:32:30 PT) you’ll see the drum recorder needle go crazy and the Shake network light up!

#3

Newbie here. In the Youtube video, can someone tell me what software is driving the “drum recorder” ? I have an actual drum recorder that was originally driven by an incoming audio sinewave. Can the Shake 4D produce a similar output ?

  • Steve
#4

Hi Steve, welcome to the community! I have no idea what software (if any) they use for the drum. It could even be an analog system. You can write to them at CASeismograph@gmail.com and ask.

Technically this should be possible with some clever electrical engineering and a few lines of code. The Raspberry Shake can output a live UDP stream of data from all channels. If you got a separate Pi computer hooked up to a drum in the right way, then sent your UDP data to it, and read a specific 4D channel, you could definitely drive a drum with it. See more about UDP here: https://manual.raspberryshake.org/udp.html

#5

For California Shaking information, checkout: https://twitter.com/SteveBCaron (@scaron).

Branden

#6

Hi Branden,

Thank for the mention. I am also now live streaming my shake data.
It can be found here:
Direct link: https://youtu.be/FdrCtR8PAls
Channel link (in case the direct link does not work): https://www.youtube.com/user/mighty3503

I am new to streaming. So, it has been interesting to setup and get running. So, far so good.

–Steve
Chino Hills, Ca
RaspberryShake 4D RD29A

2 Likes