SWARM installation problem

Good day,

I am a student and would like to access the network of raspberry shake stations at the university I study using Swarm. I don’t have this network configured on my computer. Would it be necessary to have access to the raspberry shake’s IP and be connected to the same internet network as the university? I am trying to access the SWARM.zip file through rs.local, but I have not been successful. I would like to know how I can install Swarm and get access to the stations, since rs.local does not work? Do I need to use an IP from the raspberry shake? Can I use the same IP that the university uses? If so, can I have access to the data even when I’m not using the same internet connected to the raspberry shake IP?

1 Like

Hello Brenna, and welcome to our community!

If using SWARM is not a strict requirement, and the Shakes of your university are connected to our ShakeNet transmitting live data to our network, you can use DataView https://dataview.raspberryshake.org/ (to view the Shakes’ recordings) and our FDSN service Raspberry Shake FDSNWS - DataSelect (to download the data) in place of SWARM.

However, if these conditions are not met, you can download the SWARM software from here: USGS: Volcano Hazards Program

It will be necessary for SWARM to operate in the same LAN (or VPN) the Shakes are connected to, and you will need to know the IP addresses of all the Shakes you require access to. In this case, your uni IT team, or maybe your professor/supervisor, can help set up everything as every local network can be different from another.

Once SWARM is installed and your connection configured, you can access the data from the various Shakes by setting up a Winston Wave Server for each one in this way:

1. Open the Data Chooser window from the Window menu
  2. Create a new Data Source by clicking on the relative icon (the first)