S and P Waves

Pardon me if this is a stupid question - but if I am confused, maybe so are others - and would benefit from this discussion.

There was a big earthquake in Oaxaca yesterday at 15:29 UTC. I am almost 3000km distant and was interested to see what my RS4D registered. And sure, enough, there it was. As per theory, about 6 min later the P Wave was apparent here. The theory also indicates that the S-Wave ought to show up 4-5 minutes after that. Yet, as you can see, it seems to arrive a full 8 minutes later.

Can anybody explain this? It seem very weird to me.

My guess is that what you’re interpreting as S-waves are actually the much slower surface waves. Earth material wave velocity theories are often wrong, but for teleseismic events like this, the errors tend to be within the range of a few seconds. Minutes of difference suggests to me that it’s an entirely different type of wave.

I was leaning that way also. But I am an engineer, not a geologist, so I don’t know much. And even if it was something different, where the heck is the S-Wave? Shouldn’t it be there, and much bigger than the P-Wave? The first time I got a sizeable squiggle was for an earthquake about 400km from here, and I saw the P and S and they came at the exact right times etc. So I thought I had this figured out, and now this. 'Tis a puzzlement.

1 Like

Just popping in here with a question: Do you have any programming skills?

branden

Yes, but I am retired and lazy. (smirk)

3 Likes

Well, if you want to un-lazify yourself (lol), this might be a resource you would be interested in to learn more about the wave arrivals: https://twitter.com/wmvanstone/status/1275559567892582401 (see the links to @wmvanstone github account in the comments)

branden

2 Likes

Thank you so much. This was VERY helpful. Looks like my S-Wave got shadowed or depressed and what I am seeing is maybe the ScP-Wave. As I detect more earthquakes, I will reference this info and (slowly?) become smarter.

3 Likes