RSBOOM vs RS4D

Hi folks,

I’m looking to make a purchase and have narrowed it down to either the RSBOOM or the RS4D. I think.

I’m located in New Zealand in the North Island, fwiw.

I’m fairly new to all of this. The world of seismography, that is; I’m very comfortable with Linux, networking, etc. I wanted to be able to participate in such a way as to give back to the community, share data, etc.

Would anyone be able to steer me towards one of these two offerings over the other?

Absent other info, it feels like it’s just going to be a coin flip.

Cheers

2 Likes

Hello jimc, and a warm welcome to our community!

It’s always great to meet other enthusiasts from around the world, and this is also why we continue to move forward with our work!

For your location, which is an earthquake-active area, I would generally recommend taking the RS4D. It will allow you to record any event, from weak motion (via the single vertical geophone) to strong motion (via the three accelerometers).

With this Shake model, everything will remain on scale, and you’ll be sure to record every bit of data from any earthquake that your instrument will be able to detect.

The only sensor that the RS4D is missing (and, as you have surely seen) the RSBOOM has, is the infrasound one. I would recommend this model only if you are interested in acquiring data from both atmosphere and ground with a single instrument.

To summarize:

• RS4D if you are interested in acquiring the entire motion range from any event and you are not interested in atmospheric data
  • RSBOOM if instead you are focusing on both seismic and atmospheric data

If you have any other question(s), just let me know.

Cheers, thanks for that.

I would recommend this model only if you are interested in acquiring data from both atmosphere and ground with a single instrument.

This is where I’m uncertain, and where I spent too much time yesterday spinning my wheels. Should I be interested in acquiring atmospheric data?