Location of vault

Hi, I’m new to the shake. If I’m going to install a Shake it will be outside.
We are on granite here in central Bretagne, France, the bedrock is exposed at the back of the house. I could put a platform on that only five, six meters from the utility room, or I could go another five away to an outbuilding which is not directly onto the bedrock, which do I chose, and why?

Thank,s Strebor.

1 Like

There are a few discussions that you can probably find here on siting. I think there may also be something in the manual. All of them boil down to saying that sitting on bedrock is best.

Not sure what you meant about building a platform? You really want as good a “connection” to that rock as possible - so it it’s not flat enough, maybe laying a concrete base directly on the rock would be the best idea.,

But, before making things permanent, I would try out both of your possible locations and see what the results look like. If your utility room includes (for example) a washing machine, see how much of the vibration from that is picked up.

Here is what happens with our washing machine on its spin cycle, 30m away from the R-Shake which is in sitting on the concrete floor of a barn away from the house:

I was originally going to just place it on the concrete floor of the house basement, but the air conditioning vibration was just too much.

2 Likes

Thank you Philip, I did find the install guide on the USGS site, and whilst it for the real deal it does contain some useful information. All the other posts were on RFI for the Radio Hams or environmental concerns
We are terracing the rock bank, and now would be a good time to build a level and tightly coupled base for the geophone. I’m surprised and puzzled by how much “noise of life” is detected as vertical vibrations.
S

1 Like