Line at 40Hz

Hi everyone,

I’m new to using the Rapberry Shake and was wondering if someone can explain what the line I often see at 40Hz is? Ive seen it on other people’s shakes too and can’t find an answer on Google.

Thanks,

Gregor

2 Likes

An excellent question. Here’s an example from mine but for HDF (infrasound) rather than EHZ (vertical geophone channel) - excuse the signal breakups**.

I guess the question becomes is it real or is the Shake generating it?

Given my 40Hz signal stops after a period of time and isn’t always there I’d say it probably is a genuine signal. Often though I see other different frequency straight line signals on the EHZ channel (or HDF channel) so wouldn’t go so far as to say there is anything special about 40Hz. As for what it could be my guess is it’s something human made for example a generator, extractor fan, compressor, etc. Is yours permanent, does it vary with the time of day, temperature, weather conditions for example wind, etc?

This page mentions “The pressure transducer used by the RBOOM and RS&BOOM is sensitive to RF at some frequencies” Raspberry Boom (RBOOM/ RS&BOOM) Infrasound Monitors and goes on to describe other sources though mainly for infrasound. I moved to an external WiFi dongle on a USB extension cable rather than use the built in WiFi in an attempt to eliminate any possible RF interference & improve WiFi signal until such time as I can plumb in Ethernet to prevent **signal dropout.

Please do keep us informed if you are able to determine the source as I have a number of signatures like this that equally pique my interest.

3 Likes

Hello Gregor,

That’s a very interesting observation that could spark a nice “hunt” around your house (or neighbourhood) to find the cause of that signal @ 40Hz.

I have something similar, together with other constant lines at different frequencies, all related to the computers I turn on and off in my house and, during the Summer, to my indoor electric fan.