Download RS Waveforms Offline

Hey all,

So I am a graduate student interested in eventually using a number of Raspberry Shakes to set up a small network to do some research for my project. I have procured one RS and am just trying to figure out how I would like to set it up so I could check and retrieve data from a RS buried in a seismic vault via the Ethernet cable. I’m a lifelong Windows user and all of my education is in geology, so a lot of the stuff in the guides (which I’ve perused extensively) and other posts still goes over my head.

My question is this: What would be the easiest way for me to download and view the waveforms from the RS to a laptop in the field via the Ethernet port without access to any sort of Internet connection? (The RS will have a GPS on it to keep the time, but nothing else). Apologies if this seems a basic question or is well covered in the guide and I just don’t have the technical know-how to realize it. I’ve managed to ssh into the RS using PuTTY and the Discovery IP successfully but I kind of don’t know where to go from there.

Any and all help would be very much appreciated, whether it’s specific instructions or just directions toward tutorials or other online resources to help me get my feet under me. I’ve already learned a lot about seismic vault construction from this community, so thank you in advance for any help you can provide!

Hi @dbehrens17, welcome to the community! We’re excited that you are using Shakes for your research! I give a detailed response below but there’s also some good information that relates to your questions at How to visualize the waveforms — Instructions on Setting Up Your Raspberry Shake.

Viewing waveforms