Download RESP or StationXML directly from Instrument (offline mode)

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody knows how to get the RESP file from a Raspberry Shake (RS3D in this case) when it is not on the network.

I have had success using the online documentation here to get a RESP file or StationXML using ObsPy with a Raspberry Shake on the network, and I have been able to connect directly to my raspberry shake using the technique shown here. I can get data off of my shake (offline) using SWARM, and I can export that to the mseed format, which is what I prefer to use. I primarily want the RESP file/Station XML to be able to have an ObsPy inventory object. Is this possible? I am still learning all the seismic formats, so if I am missing something obvious, please let me know!

Hello rbalik, welcome to our community!

You are very close! In this same page (Metadata - Instrument Response Files — Instructions on Setting Up Your Raspberry Shake), that you have already consulted, it is possible to find what you need a bit below the online network option.

If you go to Metadata - Instrument Response Files — Instructions on Setting Up Your Raspberry Shake you will see a list of links, with many metadata templates ready-to-use for different Shake models/versions. It is possible to check this by reading the label close to the leveling bubble, or the annotation on the blue Shake board. I’ve highlighted them for you in this sample RS3D image:

Once you know this, you can download the appropriate metadata file, adjust the necessary information as shown in the section below:

- Using your favorite text editor, replace all instances of ‘STNNM’ with the name of the station the metadata files will be used for.
- The ‘<start>’ field must also be replaced with the date on which the unit first started collecting data, replace all instances of YYYY-MM-DD accordingly.