Data calibration off in special use case

Hi all,

I’m brand new to this, so please bear with me as I walk you through my process and the resulting questions. I even read the manuals. Well, I searched the manuals, but only found enough to get me in trouble. :slight_smile:

So I installed the brand new RS4D I received yesterday. I chose the 4D specifically for the MEMS sensors to measure building sway. I live on the 50th floor of a 54 floor building, and in decent wind we sometimes feel noticeable sway (which is normal and even desirable as the structural engineers amongst you will tell me). My aim is to measure the displacement on my floor level in N/E/Z.

I’ve set up both swarm and rsudp to visualise the data. Both produce sensible graphs, I can connect to the local device with swarm, and it’s sending its data to the online servers. So far so good.

I read about the automatic calibration to create the instrument response file, so I let it run for a few hours and switched the rsudp units to displacement (units: DISP). This worked as expected - see plot below - and looking at the instrument response file it appears to have done some magic and came up with some solution.

The scale however is way off: rsudp is showing displacements in the +/- 5-20km range. Yet my seahorses are still in their tank, so it’s probably fair to say the calibration is off. I was assuming to find values on order 10e-2 - 10e-4 meters (cm to mm range). We have a nice wind storm with 60-70km/h wind gusts going at the moment and I can see the displacement waves in NN/NE and to a much lesser extent NZ, exactly as expected. So this is super exciting, except the scale is off. Screenshot for a thousand words:

This isn’t terribly surprising I suspect given my use case is not what your auto calibration method had in mind.

So here come the questions: