Converting UDP data to acceleration

Going through the forums, I’ve found multiple instances of people asking about this, but each response was that obspy library would be updated to allow the UDP into a stream object. These comments were from mid-late 2019. I have not seen that option added to the obspy changelog. Has it been added yet?

If not, is there a simple way to take the UDP byte-stream and convert each data point from voltage count to acceleration? I understand there will be sensor-noise added, but I just need human readable numbers.

Thanks!

Hello Bluesummers, welcome to the community!

Our software RSUDP, developed here at Raspberry Shake, can convert a UDP stream straight to different plots, such as Velocity or Acceleration.

You can find the full documentation here: rsudp 1.0.1 — rsudp documentation

The software is fully customisable, so it could be what you are looking for.

Hi Stomrchaser, thanks for the reply! I apologize in advance that I have very little knowledge about seismography. I’ve been tasked with pulling in the data into an existing ecology, and making it available for other devs to use. It does not need plotted or displayed in any graph form at the moment.

My understanding is that rsudp gets installed and setup on the shake? If so, then that is not ideal for us, as we don’t own the shake that is casting to us. I’m sure we could work with the owners, but I’d much rather own the code on our end.

I’m really looking for a server-side solution, as we might have multiple shakes installed at some point and I’d like to keep their setup simple. On the server that I’m casting to, I can get the byte-stream and pick it apart and pull it into our database, however the voltage counts don’t mean much. Ideally, I’d like to just massage the raw data after it comes in to make it useful as acceleration/velocity.